How to Downgrade macOS 10.13?

Some users may face some issues on certain applications when you have updated your macOS to Mojave 10.14. Carry out the steps given below to perform how to downgrade macOS 10.13 High Sierra version from 10.14 Mojave update.

Step 1: Backing up your data

  • Make sure to back up all the necessary files before you start downgrading the macOS.
  • In some cases, you may lose data when you downgrade your macOS.
  • You can use a hard drive or cloud storage drive to back up your device.
  • Note down all the saved passwords and other settings, as downgrading operating system wipes out all data from your computer.
How to Downgrade macOS 10.13

Step 2: Deleting Mojave update

  • Turn on Wi-Fi on your Mac computer and get connected to your wireless network.
  • Ensure that you have an active internet connection to downgrade your operating system.
  • Go to the Apple menu and select the Restart option.
  • When the computer’s starting screen appears, press and hold “Command+Option+Shift+R” to enter into the recovery mode.
  • In the recovery window, press the Command+R buttons.
  • If your Mac came with the High Sierra version installed, press the Option+Shift buttons together to install it again.
  • In the macOS Utilities window, select the Disk Utility option.
  • Now, select the location in which you have installed the Mojave update, and click Erase.
  • In the confirmation window, enter the update file name and choose the file format as Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Then, select Erase and close Disk Utility.
  • Now, how to downgrade macOS 10.13 from 10.14 process successfully partially completed.

Method 1: Reinstalling High Sierra

  • Once you have deleted the Mojave version, restart your computer.
  • When the computer turns on, press and hold the Command+R key together.
  • Select your language and click the Reinstall macOS option from the list.
  • Since you have deleted the newer Mojave version, the default operating system will get installed.

Method 2: Downgrading using Time machine backup

  • After you have deleted the startup disk files, open the macOS Utilities window.
  • Choose the Restore from Time Machine Backup option from the list.
  • Choose the location where you have saved your backup files.
  • Enter a name and password for the disk. Then, set the date and time of the backup to restore it.
  • Continue by following the on-screen instructions to downgrade the macOS.

Method 3: Downgrading using bootable High Sierra installer file

  • Go to the App Store and search for High Sierra.
  • Download the macOS High Sierra version. Then, Quit the window showing the application is too old.
  • Connect a pen drive/flash drive to your computer. Then, format the pen drive and copy only the installer file of the High Sierra version to it.
  • Select the Launchpad icon on the Dock and navigate to the Other section. Then, select the Disk Utility option from the list.
  • Click the External section on the left panel of the Disk Utility window.
  • Select your pen drive and click the Erase icon.
  • When prompted for confirmation to delete the stored files in the pen drive, change the name of the file as “boot.”
  • Select the format as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) from the drop-down list. Then, click on the Erase button.
  • Once the file is deleted, click Done and close the Disk Utility window.
  • Now, open Launchpad and select Other. Then, click the Terminal option.
  • In the Terminal window, type the following:
  • “sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia –volume /Volumes/MyVolume –applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app.”
  • Then, press the Enter key.
  • Type the admin password of your Mac computer. Then, type Y and press Enter.
  • Restart your computer and press the Command+R buttons together to enter the recovery mode.
  • Choose your language and select the Disk Utility option in the macOS Utilities window.
  • Now, select your Mac hard drive in the Internal section. Then, click Erase.
  • Choose the format as APFS, which is the default format, and click Erase.
  • Once the file is deleted, click Done and restart your computer.
  • Press and hold the Option button to start the setup of the High Sierra version.
  • Choose your language from the list of options.
  • In the macOS Utilities window, select the Install macOS option.
  • When the Install macOS High Sierra window appears, click Continue.
  • Agree with the license agreement and choose your Mac hard drive.
  • Click on the Install option and wait for the process to complete.
  • After the installation is complete, select your place of residence on the Welcome screen.
  • Proceed with the instructions on the screen to complete the setup of the High Sierra.
  • Your Mac operating system will now be downgraded to the 10.13 High Sierra version.
  • Using the above methods you can easily get the how to downgrade macOS 10.13 from 10.14 solution.

Installation Guide